Advanced training

Pull up a chair - let's talk Boxerbollox

Moderators: Gromit, Paul, slparry

Davey Bee

Advanced training

Postby Davey Bee » Mon Jun 30, 2014 8:27 pm

I've been giving serious thought to advance tuition. IAM is at the top of the list. I've been riding for more than 40 years, spent 2 years riding around London as a courier and did Bike Safe about 20 years. I still enjoy riding safely at pace, so I'm worried that doing such a course would try to knock this sort of behaviour out of me., and I'm not ready for that yet.
Has anyone done similar training, (other than emergency service training) and what are your thoughts. I would like as many opinions as possible.

julian

Postby julian » Mon Jun 30, 2014 8:44 pm

I did the IAM training and thought it was very good.
In particular, how to anticipate situations, reading the vanishing point and positioning on the road. They certainly don't hang around and it is a good stepping stone to other advanced training.

Others here have used individual trainers with positive results.
BMW R1100S (Black)
Suzuki TL1000S (Red)

slparry

Postby slparry » Mon Jun 30, 2014 8:50 pm

My personal preference is for RoSPA as it's a higher standard again, my understanding is RoSPA Gold is the same as the police class 1 without the high speed pursuit training.

Plus it has to be redone every few (5?) years whereas the IAM test is a lifetime award which to me diminishes it a bit as lets face it there's a big difference between us now to 20 years ago etc.

But of course the important thing really is the knowledge and understanding that such training imparts.

You could always redo the BikeSafe, and as an extra the Enhanced Rider Scheme from the DSA is a well regarded assessment too.
--
Steve Parry

Current fleet: '14 F800GS, '87 R80RS, '03 R1100S BoxerCup, '15 R1200RT LE Dynamic, '90 K1

andy griff

Postby andy griff » Mon Jun 30, 2014 10:26 pm