Upgraded Cam Chain Tensioner

Pull up a chair - let's talk Boxerbollox

Moderators: Gromit, Paul, slparry

Dog Tyred

Upgraded Cam Chain Tensioner

Postby Dog Tyred » Sat Sep 12, 2020 3:46 pm

I know its probably the wrong section but thought I might get more responses sticking it here.

So how many have done the LH Cam Chain Tensioner upgrade on their 11S?? In particular, how many high mileage bikes??

Just wondering ??

DT
Ride like your life depended on it.

2002 BCR

Neil178

Re: Upgraded Cam Chain Tensioner

Postby Neil178 » Sun Sep 13, 2020 3:37 pm

I’ve got the bits and pieces here Greg, just not fitted it yet as the bike is low mileage.
I’ve got a set of rocket sprockets to go on so i’ll probably fit everything at the same time. I’ve been saying that for a few years now!
If there is rattling noises coming from your engine then? I hope not!

Phil K

Postby Phil K » Wed Sep 16, 2020 8:11 am

Did this upgrade a couple of weeks ago to my 37k bike,
Tickover is smoother and less clatter - very happy

Phil
R11s + Val Singleton Power filter - Lennies induct - Y Piece - Wilbers - PC111
1974 Honda CB750 1974 Triumph Trident T150 Oh and a GS-LC

dmmsta

Postby dmmsta » Wed Sep 16, 2020 1:29 pm

Phil K wrote:Did this upgrade a couple of weeks ago to my 37k bike,
Tickover is smoother and less clatter - very happy

Phil

Will have to do some reading on this.

My R11S I just go my hands on is similar mileage. I'm used to parallel twins (previously TDMs and now 1200 Tenere). Never had any working with a boxer engine so will need to take my time.

Bike did come with original BMW Workshop manual, so that helps :)
New to BMW's & Boxer Engines
2003 R1100S (Silver / Yellow) - Weekender
2014 XT1200Z (White / Black) - Commuter

Deepest Darkest Kent (UK)

Skiddy

Postby Skiddy » Wed Sep 16, 2020 7:03 pm

I've done plenty of these over the years, it's not difficult but you need a bit of patience as its a bit fiddly. I get the part from Motorworks.

dmmsta