The virtual drinks are on me!

Pull up a chair - let's talk Boxerbollox

Moderators: Gromit, Paul, slparry

Adski

Postby Adski » Thu Jan 12, 2006 11:46 am

Hi everybody!

I'm new to Boxertrix and have just brought my first BMW - a 1998 Red R1100S with under 8k on the clock.
It came with a full Vanderlinde system (with ECU) and the dealer will give me a road legal set of cans once he's got some in which i thought was pretty good of them.
She cost me £3500 from South London Motorcycles who have been great to me so far. Much better than Doble motorcycles down the road and offer much, much better customer service. It even had a full tank of fuel, much to my surprise!

I've been riding nearly 5 years now and have had far too many bikes for my age (22) but I don't regret buying any of them.
I've had an NSR125, a GPz550, XJ900, GP100, CB600fs Hornet and now the R1100s.
After having the Yamaha XJ900 (its electrics died a slow death) I got the Hornet and while it was nice to have a bike from this century, and a lovely smooth revvy engine I missed the torque and shaft drive of the XJ so once again I was in search of something a bit larger! My search ended when I found the R1100s for such a low price - the dealer had reduced it's price twice as she'd been sitting around for a while. Fair enough the light red's nowhere near as nice as it in black but for two whole grand less it was something I was willing to live with!

Future upgrades:
I'll probably get a taller screen once I know how good the standard one is for touring and also a HID kit. Although I'd like a full hard luggage system it's already got a Givi single box so can't justify the expense, plus for the touring I'm likely to do some throwovers will be fine.

Hope you guys (and girls) have meet ups and ride outs every now and then, and i'm always up for the odd pint (or five) if anyone's anywhere near the Croydon area?

Adam

RoLoo

Postby RoLoo » Thu Jan 12, 2006 12:00 pm

...a beer please...

Cheers !