Puncture Hassle

Pull up a chair - let's talk Boxerbollox

Moderators: Gromit, Paul, slparry

Ade B

Puncture Hassle

Postby Ade B » Sun Jan 22, 2006 5:45 pm

After 2 hours of swearing, grunting and scrubbing to attempt to bring the grime covered S back to something approaching clean (one day's riding in last week's rain caked the entire bike.....) just as the light fades I wheel the bike back to its resting place and notice a quiet hissing....

A screw was neatly embedded in the rear wheel :x

No problem I think, whip out an inspection light and set to said puncture with the on board repair kit (I'm a veteran of 2 successful and 2 unsuccessful repairs...) thinking I'll have this sorted in 20mins and ride down to FWR in the week to get a new rear - which I've been promising myself for a while.

Not to be. The rubber bungs although fresh out the wrapper decide they don't want to go into the hole (despite religious instruction following) and instead neatly shear in two every time I try to drive them home with the metal whotsit tool...

So bike will stay with flat rear until I can get round to removing wheel and driving down to FWR....

Pants.

Anyone had a similar experience with those rubber bung thingies. The ones that came with the bike worked fine, purchased the above kit from Hein Gericke, all the bits are identical - could the rubber have perished (the seal to the packet was good...)

Ade. :roll:
2000 R1100S Sport
1980 Vespa P125X

bmwonder

Postby bmwonder » Sun Jan 22, 2006 5:50 pm

I used the stock kit. It got me from Smithfield market to FWR........but only just. I followed the instructions to the letter. I guess that it saved me though. The thing is thoese bungs are rectangular in section. Thesy are nothing like the proper mushroom ones that FWR and other fit.

mdouglas

Postby mdouglas » Sun Jan 22, 2006 6:26 pm