R1200 s - Right fuelling - broken valves and the likes

Got a technical query? Found another 0.02bhp? Ask/tell the world.

Moderators: Gromit, Paul, slparry

ted

R1200 s - Right fuelling - broken valves and the likes

Postby ted » Sun Dec 06, 2015 12:23 pm

I have been reading on this forum and on pelican about the likely cause of dropped or snapped exhaust valves on the right hand cylinder. Usually threads end up a bit too scientific for me and discuss the weak fuel ratio and the fact that it is further exasperated by using a straight through exhaust. By trade, i am a car mechanic so i have reasonable knowledge of cars running weak - especially from the good old days prior to ECU's and knock sensors etc.

My experience in the car world is that weak mixtures would burn out the edge of the valve, and in severe cases would actually pit the head of the piston . Once knock sensors started to get deployed, it would just retard the timing and stop the pinking to prevent any damage.

My question is - do all R1200s owners use high octane fuel as per the recommendations - obviously you can run lower octane as the ECU just modifies the running with the knock sensors keeping an eye on any detonation problems?

I was recently reading a car mag where it was testing the various high octane fuels available on the forecourt. Whilst very little performance increase was evidenced, it did talk at length about the extra upper cylinder lubricants etc that the fuels contained. That said, the tests were on cars that didn't recommend high octane fuel unlike our bikes. Do you think that the better fuel will help guard against the valve issue?