Help!!

Got a technical query? Found another 0.02bhp? Ask/tell the world.

Moderators: Paul, slparry, Gromit

User avatar Great Britain
Topcat
Member
Posts: 516
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 2:22 pm
Location: Somerset

Help!!

Postby Topcat » Fri Sep 14, 2018 6:13 pm

Got the bike (R1200S) out of storage last week, struggled to start but got it running, flat battery.
Back at the house and on charge overnight and not enough to start.

New battery ordered and fitted just now, turn on and nothing, no lights, no dash, no whirring, zip. Multi meter showing 13v across the terminals

Any clues?

User avatar England
milleplod
Posts: 779
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 6:46 am

Re: Help!!

Postby milleplod » Fri Sep 14, 2018 8:27 pm

I don't know much about the S, but I think a few owners have had issues like yours that have been caused by wiring faults behind the ignition switch - a simple way of checking would be to wiggle the wires while the ignition's on, if things light up....bingo! Apparently, the wires are quite tight when the bars are moved...as in, too short from the factory!.....which can cause breaks/chafing etc. Of course, you might already have wiggled things, so apologies if I'm stating the obvious! :)

Pete
Nocto Diuque Venamur

Great Britain
Humbug
Member
Posts: 361
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2015 6:06 pm
Location: Nottinghamshire

Re: Help!!

Postby Humbug » Fri Sep 14, 2018 8:40 pm

Could be the earth if its been in storage, check the connection of the earth strap from the battery.

User avatar Great Britain
Topcat
Member
Posts: 516
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 2:22 pm
Location: Somerset

Re: Help!!

Postby Topcat » Fri Sep 14, 2018 10:25 pm

Thanks chaps, will try tomorrow.

User avatar Great Britain
Boxered
Route Master
Posts: 3072
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 4:44 pm
Location: Sintelinns

Re: Help!!

Postby Boxered » Sat Sep 15, 2018 12:52 am

you did charge the new battery first didn't you Dave :?:
Well-weathered leather
Hot metal and oil
The scented country air
Sunlight on chrome
The blur of the landscape
Every nerve aware

User avatar Great Britain
Topcat
Member
Posts: 516
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 2:22 pm
Location: Somerset

Re: Help!!

Postby Topcat » Sat Sep 15, 2018 1:31 pm

Boxered wrote:you did charge the new battery first didn't you Dave :?:


Yep, been on charge since last Tuesday. Was showing all green on the optimate when I got home

But that's exactly the kind of thing I think I've done!

Tried the kill switch, checked all the wires, put the old battery on it and still nothing.

.

User avatar Spain
GerryB
Posts: 465
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 4:40 pm
Location: Jacarilla , Spain

Re: Help!!

Postby GerryB » Sat Sep 15, 2018 2:45 pm

Obviously in fiddling about to change the battery , a wire or connector has parted .

Get to the battery , make sure earth is good , then check power cable , physically , check to the first connection and see if there is power and so in .

Its possible fuse popped when doing the battery .

A stupid question , you have got the polarity correct I hope ?

Good luck , no quick fix, just a good light, patience and go for it !
Old man ... now .
Ex Off Road & Enduro Rider...

User avatar Great Britain
Topcat
Member
Posts: 516
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 2:22 pm
Location: Somerset

Re: Help!!

Postby Topcat » Sat Sep 15, 2018 4:57 pm

GerryB wrote:Obviously in fiddling about to change the battery , a wire or connector has parted .

Get to the battery , make sure earth is good , then check power cable , physically , check to the first connection and see if there is power and so in .

Its possible fuse popped when doing the battery .

A stupid question , you have got the polarity correct I hope ?

Good luck , no quick fix, just a good light, patience and go for it !


Thanks Gerry,

No fuses on the R12S, auto? fuse that re sets once problem has been sorted!
Battery is correct way round - but I have done that before on a 955 Tiger though :oops:
Multi meter on the positive of the battery, I get 13.3v when neg is on the frame and engine so earth seems good.

Will try the power cable check tomorrow

User avatar Great Britain
Topcat
Member
Posts: 516
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 2:22 pm
Location: Somerset

Re: Help!!

Postby Topcat » Fri Sep 21, 2018 1:30 pm

Fixed, it was a broken wire behind the head stock.

User avatar England
milleplod
Posts: 779
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 6:46 am

Re: Help!!

Postby milleplod » Fri Sep 21, 2018 2:12 pm

Topcat wrote:Fixed, it was a broken wire behind the head stock.


That's good, glad you found the problem! :) Had it been chafed through?

Pete
Nocto Diuque Venamur

User avatar Great Britain
Topcat
Member
Posts: 516
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 2:22 pm
Location: Somerset

Re: Help!!

Postby Topcat » Sun Sep 23, 2018 6:24 pm

Common problem I've been told (by my fav BW specialist, Graham of Graham's Motorcycles in Taunton).

BMW tie the cable too tight with cable ties and after a bit the wire breaks. Fix and leave some wriggle room!

MOT'd and all fixed for a very reasonable price :wink:


Return to “Boxertech”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests